19492 Shelburne Glebe Road For Sale In Leesburg, VA for $3,950,000
19492 Shelburne Glebe RoadLeesburg, Virginia VA20175-9123
Tranquility is the word that comes to mind as you wind up the drive of Shelburne Glebe Farm. The estate comprised of 229+/- acres (an additional 152+/- contiguous acres in 3 lots is also available for purchase), described below, is in a historic 18th century setting with significant historic importance through the Revolutionary and Civil Wars. The estate commands stunning views of the surrounding Loudoun County countryside from its hilltop above the North Fork of Goose Creek. Nestled in the shadow of nearby Mount Gilead, the property overlooks the beautiful 35 acre Oliver Lake to the east, and has broad views to the west of the Blue Ridge. This former glebe house, originally an 18th-century farm granted by England to the Anglican Church’s local parish, is on both the Virginia and National Landmark Registers. It remains one of the state’s handful of colonial glebe houses and perhaps the only one for which original specifications survive. Its construction began in 1773 by the builder Appolis Cooper, and the property’s acreage is still visible as it was in the 1700s. Although extensively remodeled and enlarged after its sale to private owners in 1840, its colonial brick walls attest to the house’s early origins. The main house boasts 4 bedrooms, 3 full bathrooms, 1 half bathroom, and a 2 car garage on 3 finished levels (4,476 square feet) as well an unfinished lower level (967 square feet). The gable-roofed, Flemish-bond brick build residence has interior and chimneys to which brick and frame wings have been added. The side-and-crimson light Greek Revival doorway, the Tuscan porch with its two square pitched echoed by two pilasters, its boldly projecting cornice, and extremely shallow gable roof, and the present Greek Revival interior woodwork may all have been done at the same time as this remodeling of the window openings in the nineteenth century. The south facade, overlooking the creek, appears to have been the original principal front. A two-bay kitchen wing with a shallow gable roof and interior end chimney was added to the east end of the house, flush with the north façade, sometime in the nineteenth century. Door frames with bull's-eye corner blocks survive on most of the doors, and the stairway with its ramped-and-eased banister and squat turned newel post dates from the nineteenth century period as well. A two-story, brick addition plus a two car garage were added on the west end of the house in the 20th century. Early outbuildings stand east and south of the house. A gable-roof, end-opening house with a stone first floor and a brick half-story made whole by a concrete block addition lies southeast of the main house. An icehouse with a stone foundation and frame-under weatherboard superstructure has a pyramidal hipped roof through the center of which a tall, frame water tower, square in plan, was intruded. Further east is a two-story guest cottage consisting of a stone first story, a frame second story, and a large covered porch overlooking the lake. This charming 964 square foot guest house includes two bedrooms, a bathroom, a kitchen, and laundry room. A modern bank barn was erected on what appears to be old stone foundations and includes 6 stalls, tack room, feed room, and 1 half bathroom on the lower level with a hayloft above. Just behind the bank barn is one car detached garage and 3 sided post and beam frame building both currently used for farm equipment storage. As mentioned previously, the property is on both Virginia and National Landmark Registers. It is in easement held jointly by VDHR and Loudoun County, and is located in the Goose Creek Historic District (a scenically cohesive rural area of some 10,000 acres in central Loudoun County). The property is in land use (Seller not responsible for roll back taxes).